Meet the Team

Julie Dawn Smith
Executive Director

While studying music performance and working as a free-lance musician, Executive Director Julie Dawn Smith developed a painful and debilitating condition that ultimately put a stop to her playing career. Had the Artists’ Health Alliance existed at that time, not only would she have benefited greatly from the resources, knowledge, and guidance the AHA offers, she would have had the information and tools needed to heal and continue with her performance career.

Since that time Julie’s focus has been to facilitate and advocate for the careers of other artists through arts programming, arts education, and academic writing. She is the former executive director of Coastal Jazz and the TD Vancouver International Jazz Festival, the Jazz Institute of Chicago and the Guelph Jazz Festival. She has developed many outreach, education and arts programs throughout her career and has published articles in the areas of gender, improvisation, and cultural studies. She has studied classical music, jazz performance, experimental and electronic composition, South Asian music, and interdisciplinary fine arts. Julie holds an honours B.A. in music from York University, a diploma in jazz studies from Humber College, an M.A. in interdisciplinary arts from Chicago's Columbia College, and a PhD in interdisciplinary studies from the University of British Columbia.

Netta Kornberg
Program & Education Coordinator

Netta Kornberg is a researcher and arts organizer with international experience spanning three continents. She has worked on public and popular education projects at the Royal Ontario Museum, South African History Online and the Faculty of Education, York University. She holds an MPhil. from the University of Cambridge, UK, and an Hons. B.A. at the University of Toronto.

Board of

Helena Pagano, Interim Chair

John Hudecki, Vice-Chair

Jill Humphries, Secretary

John Moody, Treasurer

Dr. Lee Bartel

Christy DiFelice

Leslie Dolman

Pat Dumas-Hudecki

Jeanne Jabanoski

Jan Lackstrom

Dr. Darrell Ogilvie-Harris

Liz Pounsett

Tracy Ross


Pat Dumas-Hudecki, Co-Chair

John Hudecki, Co-Chair

Advisory Council

Christine Ardagh

David Banks

Lyne Bond

Clive Chamberlain

Michael Du Maresq

Phil Ellison

Lynda Hamilton

Tennys Hanson

Jeanne Jabanoski

Merrijoy Kelner

Linda MacKenzie

Elise Orenstein

Pauline Pariser

Laura Quinn

Paula Ravitz

Kathy Sabo

Graham Savage

Joysanne Sidimus

Eileen Smith

Beverley Spotton

Camille Watts

Beverly Wellman

Lynne Wilson

Catherine Zahn

In Memoriam

Malka Green

Upcoming Workshops

Registration: Artists' Toolbox

June 30, 2018

Fill in the form below and select which events you want to register for, including the number of spaces you want to reserve (under “quantity”). If you have any problems registering online, you can do so over the phone by calling 416-351-0239.   Season Summary Narrative Wellbeing ...

Maintaining Creative Energy

March 13, 2018

This workshop addresses creative fatigue and combats the isolation that plagues artistic work. Through activities facilitated by an expert drama educator, participants identify and discuss sources of their creative energy. Explore how your personal and professional stories, and the places you come ...

Healthy Habits

January 25, 2018

This workshop addresses the fact that artistic practice can entail unhealthy habits. Facilitated by a registered dietitian and a physiotherapist, this workshop will help artists gain individual insight into their own habits in regards to diet, exercise and sleep. Create sustainable patterns and ...